The desert will blossom

Winter Jasmine

Spring blossoms in SoCal come early. In my front garden I have largely Californian natives and the blossom from manzanitas in particular in January really attracts the bees.

Manzanite blossom has a great smell and covers the trees in January

In the back I planted a Cherry tree in a shadier part of the garden and a winter Jasmine on an East facing wall. The jasmine struggles in the heat of summer, but is still there and gives some nice color in January. The cherry tree after a couple of years when it only partially bloomed has this year done really well. Probably helped by some good rain in December.

Wisteria buds just about to come out

I planted a small wisteria plant by the wall on a East facing wall and have each year added a few poles for the wisteria to slowly climb either side of the path by the side of the house along. It now almost makes an archway (when in flower) and each spring when the vines start to grow surprise me.

The wilderness and the dry land will be glad. The desert will rejoice and blossom like a rose.

Next month my ceanothuses will come out and the Wisteria should be in bloom.

Leave a comment